Murie Audubon Chapter History



On Saturday, August 28, 2004 Murie’s 50th Anniversary was celebrated at the Isaac Walton Club House in Casper, Wyoming.

In February, 1954, a group of 29 people with a passion for birds, wildlife, and conservation got together and decided to form a Wyoming chapter of the National Audubon Society. Some of them had already been participating in Christmas Bird Counts for National Audubon.

(The first Casper CBC took place in January, 1949.) Thus, the Wyoming Audubon Society came into being.

Charter Members:

  • Mary Arnold
  • Travis Look
  • Alice Bennett
  • Mrs. Dean C. Morgan
  • F. Howard Brady
  • Mr. and Mrs. E. T. Pummill
  • L. R. Burkhart
  • Mrs. Louis C. Rognstad
  • Mrs. Pearl Burns
  • Dr. and Mrs. Oliver K. Scott
  • Mary Dille
  • Helen Sherard
  • Mrs. L. R. Earnshaw
  • Mildred O. Snyder
  • Mrs. William Earnshaw
  • Maury M. Travis
  • E. Sue Gloriod
  • Mrs. Myra B. Waltman
  • Mrs. Edith Hegwer
  • Mr. and Mrs. J. C. Warkley
  • Victor Jacquot
  • Mr. and Mrs. Joseph W. Yant
  • Elmer E. Johnson
  • Howard Yant
  • R. B. Lange

As time went by, the group began to refer to themselves as the Casper chapter of the Wyoming Audubon Society; and eventually, they officially changed the name to the Murie Audubon Society.