American White Pelican



On Saturday, August 28, 2004 Murie’s 50th Anniversary was celebrated at the Isaac Walton Club House in Casper, Wyoming In February, 1954, a group of 29 people with a passion for birds, wildlife, and conservation got together and decided to form a Wyoming chapter of the National Audubon Society. Some of them had already been participating in Christmas Bird Counts for National Audubon.

(The first Casper CBC took place in January, 1949.) Thus, the Wyoming Audubon Society came into being.

Charter Members:

Mary Arnold

Travis Look

Alice Bennett

Mrs. Dean C. Morgan

F. Howard Brady

Mr. and Mrs. E. T. Pummill

L. R. Burkhart

Mrs. Louis C. Rognstad

Mrs. Pearl Burns

Dr. and Mrs. Oliver K. Scott

Mary Dille

Helen Sherard

Mrs. L. R. Earnshaw

Mildred O. Snyder

Mrs. William Earnshaw

Maury M. Travis

E. Sue Gloriod

Mrs. Myra B. Waltman

Mrs. Edith Hegwer

Mr. and Mrs. J. C. Warkley

Victor Jacquot

Mr. and Mrs. Joseph W. Yant

Elmer E. Johnson

Howard Yant

R. B. Lange

As time went by, the group began to refer to themselves as the Casper chapter of the Wyoming Audubon Society; and eventually, they officially changed the name to the Murie Audubon Society.